What is a Writer-in-Residence?

Lee Mackenzie, Butler’s very own Writer-in-Residence, tells us about his new role and why it’s a privilege to do it.

As you may find out in the course of this article, it is difficult to explain what a Writer-in-Residence is exactly. To you, a progressive body of students, it is hard enough; to my Nan impossible:

‘Oh Lee, what’s a writeinsresient?’

‘Well, a Writer-in-Residence is a person who stays with a certain institution…’

‘You’ve lost me already…’

‘Ok, I try and encourage people to write poems and articles about what they want…’

‘…like when you were an English teacher in that Birmingham School?’

‘A bit, I suppose. Although it’s more about exploring the artistic process.’

‘…’

‘Nan…?’

‘…’

‘Nan, you ok?’

‘… oh, remember when you did law and met a cannibal, wasn’t that good…’

‘Yes Nan; it gave me some anecdotes…’

‘…you always were good at talking…’

‘Yeah, I think that was a bit of a problem when I was youn…’

‘…when you spoke, people would listen.’

‘Yeah, but it was…’

‘Remember when you played Bottom in that play and Lewis’s dad said you would be a Shakespearean actor…’

IMG-20180915-WA0002

Nan-dynamic aside, conversations like these were rife before I came to the college. People found it difficult to understand what exactly the role entailed. I tried to explain how I wanted to map the words and phrases of Durham’s inhabitants – interview the students and residents to understand their feelings on place and being; create a socio-historic record of their answers and use their words as a prompts for people who write poems and articles. But this never really made much sense to the people I spoke to.

In fairness, even when condensed into the blurb above, the idea sounds a little abstract: seemingly, removed from the students in the Butler bar and the residents pottering in the market square. However, after two weeks at the college, I believe more firmly than ever in the position; It is a very real and important privilege.

I spend my time doing something that people rarely get to do in their adult lives: I am allowed to listen. To listen to the heartbeat of a place. To hear the world-views, troubles, angers and joys. To hear talk of protest allotments and church choices. Of ‘secret’ darts societies and incompetent fathers. Of conker collectors and of the truth behind the Mound. Of life before it passes by unnoticed.

Nan was right; I was a talker. But from my happiest position now, I think, in all that past bluster, how much did I miss? How many people’s voices were glossed over in an ego’s whim? I thank my lucky stars, I confronted this when I did. And I thank my lucky stars that I get to listen to the college, to the university and to Durham as it breathes in and out.

So on that, I’ll finish by offering what I think a Writer-in-Residence should try to do: offer, through writing and expression, a space to notice these moments – to listen, wait and roll back the bluster.

Lee is next in college for the w/c 18th February. If you would like to contact Lee, please drop the Butler Hub a message on Facebook or Instagram and we’ll pass on your details.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. DownByTheRiver says:

    It is great to have Lee with us in Durham.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Butler Hub says:

      Most definitely!

      Like

Leave a comment